Days of Want Series, Book One

In an instant, everything stops. No lights. No phones. No transportation.

When coordinated EMP and Cyberattacks wipe out the nation’s power grid and communications, ultramarathon runner, Maddie Langston, is forced to run for her life.

Stranded in a Chicago airport when the lights go out, Maddie is in a race against time. According to her father, she doesn’t have long before the city descends into chaos. She must leave the airport before it is too late.

Although she knows she must flee the Windy City, Maddie’s first battle is to overcome her fear of the violence she knows is coming. She’s a fighter; she just doesn’t know it yet.

The perilous journey out of the city becomes even more difficult when Maddie takes responsibility for an orphaned ten-year-old girl. Together, as chaos fills the streets, they must fight to survive in a Turbulent new world.

Would you have what it takes to survive?


by T. L. Payne | Days of Want Series


Days of Want Series, Book Two

Hunted and on the run.
A decision to make.
…one that will tear Maddie’s heart out.

Just when Maddie thinks she has reached safety at her uncle’s farm, a new threat emerges sending her on the run in a race for her life.

Forced to flee the farm, she and her group must find a way to escape those chasing them. Hunted by government officials, with danger at every turn, Maddie is forced to make a heart-wrenching​ decision to protect the ones she loves.

Will she make the right choice?

With her mother’s fate still unknown, Maddie and her brother, Zach, are more determined than ever to reach their cabin deep in the Missouri Ozarks.
Can they evade capture to be reunited with their mother?

You will love Hunted, the second pulse-pounding post-apocalyptic thriller in the Days of Want Series, because everyone wants to know they can survive.

Available on Amazon in paperback, ebook, and audiobook. Free in Kindle Unlimited


by T. L. Payne | Days of Want Series


Days of Want Series, Book Three

A new threat emerges…

…from an unexpected source.

Lives hang in the balance.

As Maddie, Zack, and their group struggle to secure the cabin, the community grapples to find justice in a lawless world when a girl goes missing.

Amid turmoil and bloodshed, Maddie learns evil comes in all shapes and sizes. 

No one can be trusted.

After Maddie and Zack find old enemies nearby, a decision must be made—hunker down and wait, or go on the offensive.

Which would you choose?

Filled with grief and guilt, Maddie must find a way to move forward and survive. As lives are lost will this become too much to bear?

On the road to reunite with Maddie and Zack, Beth’s trip takes a twisted turn. She won’t let a deviant group prevent her from reaching her children.

This is the third action-packed post-apocalyptic thriller in the Days of Want Series.

Available on Amazon in paperback, ebook, and audiobook. Free in Kindle Unlimited



by T. L. Payne | Days of Want Series


  Days of Want Series, Book Four

Texas County, Missouri is a powder keg ready to blow.

As winter approaches, small-town issues become big trouble. 

Maddie Langston and her group of post-apocalyptic survivors are stretched thin.

Vengeful old foes take advantage of weakened defenses. 

Without support, as supplies dwindle, citizens are forced to take matters into their own hands. Mounting tensions and soaring risks begin to topple traditional priorities.

Can the big guns stem the tide or will a flood of 600 maximum-security inmates saturate the heartland?  

Death at every doorstep. Impossible choices. 

Will Maddie’s group pay the ultimate price in a society gone savage?

Available on Amazon in paperback, ebook, and audiobook. Free in Kindle Unlimited


by T. L. Payne | Days of Want Series


Days of Want Series, Book Five

After surviving the prison riots and deadly skirmishes with the wanna-be dictator of Texas County, Maddie and her group are left with dwindling resources, unprepared for the harsh winter ahead. 

Old friends pitch in to help until a more deadly foe arrives to put all of their lives at risk. 

A daring mission to St. Louis for precious lifesaving supplies has deadly consequences. Will they have the courage it takes to make it back in time?

As the long, hard winter takes its deadly toll and gives way to spring, a force no weapon can defeat threatens the group. Can they pull together under its weight or will they all be lost?

Available on Amazon in paperback, ebook. The audiobook is coming soon! Free in Kindle Unlimited


Their world is about to be turned upside down.

Nine months after the lights went out, Maddie Langston and the other survivors in Texas County just want to replenish their food stores and prepare for the next winter but an unexpected encounter with a stranger takes all their lives in a whole new direction.

It's not just their lives on the line this time. The survival of the entire nation could be at stake.



After defeating Nelson and his crew, Maddie and her group from Evening Shade are ready for some rest and relaxation before the big push to prepare for another post-apocalyptic winter. But trouble once again finds our group and this time, it is knocking at their back door.

News from Rank and his new friends down south rocks Maddie’s world and ignite her worse fears. She’ll be forced to make tough decisions, ones that she isn’t prepared to make. It will take a miracle—or an army to defeat this enemy and preserve their homestead.

Sudden Chaos

Coordinated EMP and cyberattacks.

A desperate race.

So much at stake.

Erick Wynn is about to be a new father. He and his wife, Amy, have prepared the best they can, but they never planned for coordinated EMP and cyberattacks to leave them separated, without power, communications, or transportation.

Erick had just arrived at the airport to head off on a business trip when the lights went out. Now, he must fight his way through the violent streets of Chicago to make it home to his wife and unborn child before the violence reaches them.

Could you survive sudden chaos storming through the windy city to get home to your family?

Sudden Chaos is a post-apocalyptic EMP survival short story of The Days of Want Series and contains a FREE two-chapter preview of Turbulent, Book One in the series.

%d bloggers like this: